Why Teach?

Standard

images-5

Recently I was asked the big question, ( one of many I guess), Why teach?

What came to mind at first was how growing up I was the eldest cousin in our extended family home and it felt natural for me to lead groups of children in various activities.   Also, young people inspire me, they teach me as much as I hope I teach them.  I like to think of it as a mutual exchange.

After thinking about it some more, I came up with a better and more relevant answer ( which of course happens after the job interview is over, right?)

I think teaching is one of very few avenues where someone could earn (because yes, teaching is profession)  the access to molding the minds of a generation.  Unfortunatly, standardized curriculums and testing is changing this (being forced to teach a scripted curriculm is so much fun, yeah?)  But, I digress.

images-2

So why teach?  Because in our society, it’s how we can directly pass on – and potentially change- our culture, our values, our dreams for the future- it shouldnt be taken lightly- and Im very fortuate ( dispite the displacements, pink slips, schools closings, ect…) to have chosen teaching as part of my life’s path.

images-3

Below are some awesome education related links:

Unknown

Rethinking schools:  An amazing social justice eduation resource for all teachers-  http://www.rethinkingschools.org/index.shtml

Unknown-3

Boston 826: A nonprofit organization decidicated to support students’ creative and expository writing

images

-http://www.826boston.org

Unknown-1

Providence Student Union: A group of local students working towards educational justice-   http://www.providencestudentunion.org

Unknown-2

Do you teach? Create? Build? Dance?

images-1

What do what you do? Know of other amazing ed orgs?  Leave me a note!

images-4

Leave a Reply

